Panoramic courtyard: every day 10am-7pm
Towers: Sat / Sun + holidays 10-13 / 15-18
Admission: € 2.00 – Free up to 13 years
The towers remain open until October
From the top of the hill on which it stands, the Castello Scaligero dominates Valeggio and the entire Mincio valley, maintaining theimposing grandeur of the 14th-century medieval fortifications.
Only theTorre Tonda (Round Tower) remains of its oldest part which was almost completely destroyed by the 1117 earthquake, a unique horseshoe-shaped construction from the 10th century which, together with three others, formed a trapezoidal fortification, adapted to the shape of the land. The part that can be visited today was originally called the "Rocca” (the Rock) and was accessed by two drawbridges. A third bridge, the only one still standing, led to the largest part of the structure called the“Castello”, of which only the ruins of the outer walls remain. The inner area is now occupied by a private villa, built at the beginning of the 20th century (Villa Nuvoloni - Sberna).
The passage of time, wars and human neglect have progressively damaged this ancient monument. Only in the last few decades the work of protection and reconstruction of this very special historical patrimony has begun. During the summer, open-air shows and cinema evenings are organised in the atmospheric setting of the inner courtyard.
A legend full of mystery and blood hovers between the towers of the castle. A history of arms that sees the protagonist of the ancient castellan of the manor, Messer Andriolo da Parma and the troops of the Scaligeri and Carraresi. Do you want to know the whole story? Discover the legend.